Red Nose Run 10mi – Race Recap

Well, I said I’d never run the Red Nose Run in Birmingham again because of how badly mis-managed the 5k was in 2010. But seeing as the race has a 10 mile distance and it’s exactly 8 days before the Houston Marathon, I decided to give it another try.

I was pleasantly surprised this year. The trail was very well marked with orange spray paint and I don’t recall seeing a turn that didn’t have a police officer or volunteer directing runners. This was a fairly winding course through some residential areas, so the officers and volunteers were very useful. I think I’ll pull the RNR off of my “do not run again” list. The race directors stepped up their game and fixed their problems from last year. And the course (except for the hills, which I always hate) is pretty nice. So if I’m here next year, I’ll be running this race again!

The hills were not fun.

All in all, I think I did just okay at this race. Yes, I did set a new PR for myself, but I’m pretty sure I could have run it a little faster. My excuse (maybe not good ones, but I do have excuses) is that I didn’t want to push myself too hard or injure myself before the Houston Marathon. Also, I walked the hills because hate hills. I blame hills for my peroneal tendonitis.

Looking at my splits, I realize I didn’t exactly get the whole ‘negative splits’ thing for this race. I can tell I tried, in mile 2, to make up for my far-too-fast mile 1. Miles 7, 8 and 9 were far slower than 3, 4 and 5 — which is pretty much the opposite of what I went out to do in the first place.

                  

So I guess I’m giving myself an F for pacing, but a B+ over all. Oh well. Bring on Houston.


2012k in 2012 Update

This entry was posted in 2012 in 2012, Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Nose Run 10mi – Race Recap

  1. bearrunner says:

    awesome run, and math calculations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

