New Year’s Resolutions 2012 (Updated)

I’m posting these publicly so that I have a little accountability to my goals! All of the psychology experts say that the best way to accomplish goals is for them to be simple, specific, and attainable. I think mine qualify under those headers.

Resolution #1: Run 1200 miles in 2012. 100 miles a month. I can totally do this as long as I don’t injure myself badly this year. 2012 will be an easier year than most, since I don’t plan on traveling as much as usual. Plus, it will serve as stress relief while finishing my doctoral degree (see Resolution 4) as well as help with losing weight (see Resolution number 3). I plan on posting an update on this blog on the last day of every month to note my progress. This might be the resolution that I have the most likelihood of not accomplishing, but I’m going for it. 100 miles a month shakes out to 25 mile weeks — totally doable.

UPDATE (1/1/12): Instead of 1200 miles, I’m going to run 2012 km in 2012, which is 1250 miles. It sounds cooler.

Resolution #2: Do ‘one more thing’ every day. Like everyone else, my to do list never seems to get done. I always feel like I need to finish my ironing, or clean my kitchen, or post a blog when I get home after work. When I don’t do enough of my to do list in a given day, it’s much harder for me to fall asleep at night. So, in 2012, I will make myself do just one more thing before bed. It doesn’t have to be a big thing – load the dishwasher, take out the trash, throw a load of laundry into the washing machine – but I’m resolving to do it before bed. I’m hoping this helps eliminate some of my sporadic insomnia.

Resolution #3: Get my body weight/body fat % down to a healthy level.  As of December 30, I weigh 160.2 lbs and am 35.6% body fat (according to my bioelectrical impedance scale). Being all of 5ft 5in, this is nowhere near healthy. I will lose at least 15.6% of my body fat (bringing myself to 20% body fat, an appropriate amount for a reasonably fit person in her 20s & 30s). This 15.6% body fat equals 25lbs, bringing my goal weight to 135.2lbs. To be fair, I like the number 130 better. But I’ll leave those last 5 for my 2013 goal if I still have a muffin top. 135lbs and 20% body fat is my goal for 2012. This will take a combination of running (1200 in 2012 should help) and better nutrition (bye bye fast food lunches!).

Resolution #4: Finally finish my Doctoral degree. I’m planning on finishing my dissertation research by August, defending my research in early September, and walking/graduating in December of 2012. Fair warning: I want everyone to address me as “doctor” for the month of January 2013.

Wish me luck!

And Happy New Year!!

This entry was posted in 1200 in 2012, Goals, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions 2012 (Updated)

  1. Stephanie says:

    Great resolutions, Laura, and good luck with them! I love reading your and your sister’s blog. Have a great New Year!

    • laura says:

      Thanks Stephanie! I’m super determined to accomplish them this year (As opposed to years’ past when I didn’t really care), so hopefully at least 3/4 will stick! And Happy New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

