Race Recap: Baltimore Half Marathon (or, how I did NOT meet my one and only goal)

Oh, Baltimore.  How you crushed my poor little heart.

Okay, so that’s a bit overdramatic considering I didn’t really think of Saturday’s Half Marathon as a race, but more of a training run.  I was using it to prep for the upcoming Marine Corps Marathon.  My last 13 miler before my last 8 miler before the MCM.  (For those of you keeping score at home, 12 days to the MCM!!)

The Baltimore Running Festival started off with confusion for me.  There was little to no signage for the expo.  I know several other people who ran into this problem.  Carly and I did finally figure out where to park and how to get to the expo, but there was a lot of guesswork.  I realize that the very expressive (Exclamation marks!! ALL CAPS!! BOLDFACE!!) emails from Baltimore Running Festival insisted we read the manual cover to cover.  I didn’t realize that meant that there were uninformed people working there.  The bib people were nice and helpful, but I did not see an information booth.

The race day dawned early.  I mean, EARLY.  We’d elected not to get a hotel because of cost (and we’re just down the road in DC!).  After a cup of coffee and a bagel (mmm Dunkin), Carly and I were flying up to Baltimore with enough time to chill in the warmth of the car for a bit prior to finding our new friend, Sarah.

Before the Race. I love meeting new people through Twitter!

For the Baltimore half marathon, I only had one goal.  JUST ONE.  My goal was to “Stay with Carly“.  I didn’t do it.  Just couldn’t.  Carly took off ahead of me around 5.5 miles and I just couldn’t keep up.  Because Carly had a BALLER Race!!  She had a HUGE PR!!  And I’m so freaking proud of her!!

Me? I was basically begging for the finish line by mile 6.  My bruised knee was aching around mile 5 and I guess I started compensating for that because I ended up with IT band and hamstring tightness at mile 6 that lasted throughout the remainder of the race.  But that’s when I started walking more than running.  I was also having some breathing issues – I was super glad I had my inhaler on hand.

But, I pushed through.  I just wanted the race to be over.  Right at the last 800 meters, I thought out loud, “where the hell is this finish line?” and the girl running next to me laughed and said, “we’re so close.  come on, let’s do this! we’re almost there!”  I am thankful for Ms. Positive, whoever she was, because I laughed too and was able to push through to the end.

This is my "Where the hell is this finish line?" face.

After crossing the finish, getting my medal, and stopping for a ton of water, I made my way to the second, not-so-crowded med tent to ice up the knee.  My orthopedist said that swelling was to be expected if I used the knee for an extended period of time.  I guess 13 miles counts!  The opportunity to sit for a moment and ice was fan-freaking-tastic.  I love ice.  Really.  And ibuprofin.  They’re the best combination since peanut butter and jelly.  Since McCartney and Lennon.  Since Carly and Suze.  😀

Just like McCartney and Lennon. Only we can't sing.

So, not the best race for me, really.  I finished in 2:43:53 (a whole 24 seconds slower than Virginia Beach).  I wonder how well I would have done had I not fallen apart? Maybe then I’d have been able to meet my goal of staying with Carly.

Have you ever fallen apart on a race, but still felt good because someone else KICKED ASS-PHALT?

This entry was posted in Goals, Races, Running, Susannah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Race Recap: Baltimore Half Marathon (or, how I did NOT meet my one and only goal)

  1. Sarah says:

    It was so nice to meet you!!! We will def. need to run/race together sometime soon 🙂

    I know your race didn’t go as planned, but I still think you did a great job pushing yourself and finishing with a smile on your face.

    • Suzy says:

      Thanks Sarah! Such a fun day!

      I rather enjoyed the “so they just GIVE you a medal??” conversation at the ChickFilA. I thought about that, and perhaps our response should have been, “yes they do. also, did you know they make child sized shoes?” 🙂

  2. I still think you need to be pretty impressed with the fact that you ran Baltimore in just about the same time as Virginia Beach. Baltimore is a much harder/hillier course and you managed to keep the same time. That is super impressive. Also, I still feel terrible about losing you. I was having so much fun singing about shaking my booty to you.
    Also, I almost forgot about the guy who asked us about the medals in CFA. So funny. He’d be so disturbed to know that I brought mine to work today. I mean… they just GAVE it to me. I want to have it close by! 😉

    • Suzy says:

      I think we might bother people with the amount of singing we do at each other. Note the “at” since the other person is always like, “WTF song are you singing? Is that about strippers??”

      I’m impressed that I am so consistent! 😀 And no worries on losing me – you were gonna kill that race. And I knew you’d be there at the end waiting for me! This is why we’re awesome run buddies. (also, I drove you. you had to wait.)

  3. carol says:

    For those of us that don’t do these long-distance runs…ever…..this is Super impressive that you finished in that time! That’s awesome, I’m so proud of you, that you pushed through and completed it!! And you too, Carly! Great job ladies!!! MCM is almost here….countdown should begin …now! Keep up the good work 🙂

  4. Brigid says:

    Oh fun! The blogger world is so small. I was just reading Carly’s race recap yesterday 🙂 Good luck on MCM! That’s incredible. I’m still sticking to the half distance myself. I’m not sure if I’ll ever feel up to the full. Right now I’m enjoying the 15K and half distances! I’m signed up for the Hot Chocolate 15K and am planning on doing the Rock N Roll DC Half. Maybe I’ll see you at a race sometime!

    • Suzy says:

      I feel like the DC blogger world is even smaller! Thanks for the luck! I’m not sure I feel up for the full marathon, but I’m going to do it! 🙂

      I’m planning on the Hot Chocolate 15k too!! I am now going to be on the lookout for you at all my races in the future! Hope we run into each other! 🙂 Best of luck in the 15k and the RnR DC half!

  5. Emily says:

    I love love love your ruffled running skirt!!! Too cute!

Leave a Reply

