Remember when…

I’m likely going to date myself here, but nostalgia has smacked me right in the face today; sneaking up on me like a small child all innocent and then WHAMMO.  I was getting ready for work and flipped on the tv (which never happens, btw) and guess which long-lost tv-crush greeted me?

Hello, I'm Zack Morris. I lived on your wall in the poster by your closet.

Oh yeah, Zack Morris.  Rockin’ the frosted tips.  Saved by the Bell was one of my favorite shows growing up.  From the Miss Bliss episodes to the wedding in Hawaii.  (Even the college years, embarrassingly enough.)  How I miss you.  Thank you, TBS, for giving me back my SBTB.  And thank you, Jimmy Fallon, for this:

http://www.hulu.com/embed/RSI6R45hDmcYXU0L7M4x4Q

But this took me back a little – and I’ve been reminiscing all day.  Guess who else was on my wall growing up?  These guys:

The Right Stuff!

That’s their debut album in… wait for it… 1986.  Were you born yet?  But, here they are now, having recently toured with the Back Street Boys in a tour BRILLIANTLY named NKOTBSB.

Hangin' Tough!

Admittedly, not the best choice in music, but, hey.  It was the 80s (and 90s!).

Being a child of the 80s and 90s, I was also lucky enough to have one of these:

Up Up, Down Down, Left Right, Left Right, B, A, Select, Start.

I was awesome at the original Mario Brothers.  I sucked at Duck Hunt.  My sister and I used to play a rather easy game with wizards (the name escapes me) upside down on the couch.  We’d get the pink screen of death, then have to blow on the cartridges to make the games work.  Rumor amongst the family is that we still have the NES somewhere.

And OMG, remember these:

HYPERCOLOR!! (Warning: Induces inappropriate hand placement)

What takes you back?

This entry was posted in General Fun, Happiness, Life, Susannah and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

