Well if everyone else is…

Ok, so Carly and Suze both posted their race schedules for the rest of the year… I figured I would too!  Just call me Follower McGee. I’ve got a 5k, half marathon, and two full marathons in the next 6 months, although I wouldn’t bet against me adding another 5k/8k/10ks in there if a good one shows up…

September 17, 2011 – The Birmingham Freedom Run 5k – Birmingham, Alabama

Since I can’t get to Washington, D.C. to run the Arlington Police, Fire & Sheriff 9/11 Memorial Run, which still remains my favorite race ever, I wanted to do another first-responder/military charity run. Fortunately, there’s now a 9/11 run near me that benefits the Fisher House Foundation, one of many organizations serving military members and their families in times of need. What do they do?  This is from their website: “Because members of the military and their families are stationed worldwide and must often travel great distances for specialized medical care, Fisher House Foundation donates “comfort homes,” built on the grounds of major military and VA medical centers. These homes enable family members to be close to a loved one at the most stressful times – during the hospitalization for an unexpected illness, disease, or injury.”  Cool, right?  So I’m already registered to run this one. It’ll be an easy race and a really rewarding atmosphere.

9/17/2011 – The Davidson Lands Conservancy Run For Green – Half-marathon – Davidson, North Carolina

I guess I’m running this race for 3 reasons.  (1) My first ever full marathon will be 6 weeks and 1 day after this race, so I think it will serve as a really good ‘check-up’ to see what muscles are going to be my weak link on my full marathon.  Plus, I’ll have enough time after this race to fully recover before my marathon.  (2) I like the charity.  This is a big deal for me when deciding to run a race. It better be some really big landmark race or it better have a really good charity. Davidson Lands Conservancy?  “The Davidson Lands Conservancy works to PROTECT valuable land, EDUCATE the public about the benefits of conservation, and ADVOCATE on behalf of our ecosystems.”  Yeah, that’s something I can get behind. Or in front of, depending on how fast I run. and (3) I’ll be running the race with one of my best friends, Kelsey, who, despite our years of saying we will, we have yet to run a race of any kind together.


October 30, 2011 – The Marine Corps Marathon – Washington, D.C.

Holy crap, my first marathon. I heard this was one of the best marathons for a first timer, and I’m thinking they meant me. I love my military. I love DC. I get all big-picture-y and in my head when I’m exhausted, so the environment is going to be great.  That, plus a really flat miles 10-26? That sounds good to me! I’m running this with my sister, Susannah (the gal who shares this blog with me!) and our good friend Carly will be running the 10k race on the same day.

eep!

January 15, 2012 – The Houston Marathon – Houston, Texas

I won the lottery and was granted a spot in the Houston Marathon, which is something quite lucky seeing as this race is the site of the 2012 Olympic Trials. There will be a record number of participants in the full and half marathons (28,000 says the press release), and I’ll be running with the people who will be representing the U.S. in the 2012 London Olympics in July and August. Granted, I’ll be very very very far behind them, but it will still be very very very cool. Heck, there may even be a world record set. Who knows?

So I figure if I crash and burn at the Marine Corps Marathon 11 weeks before this one, I still have a chance to really feel good about a marathon.  Then I think I’m going to go back to running half marathons. So far, those are my favorite distance.

slightly less 'eep!'

This entry was posted in Races, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

