Winning the Lottery

I woke up this morning to some pretty good news:

That’s right! I won the lottery! Well, I won the lottery along with 12,999 other people. Still, I’m pretty excited.  The Chevron Houston marathon is the site of the 2012 Olympic Trials. That means I’ll be running on the same track as some crazy awesome runners. And that also means that there will be some crazy awesome crowds to cheer everyone on!

In other good news, my foot is feeling much better. Not perfect yet, but I’m on the verge of trying running again.  I’ve done a few of Jillian Michael’s DVDs (don’t laugh, they’re killer hard) to get my body used to being active again and so far, so good.  I’m going to yoga tonight with my friend Angela and if I still feel good in the morning, I’m going to do a VERY easy 3 mile run/walk on the treadmill in the morning! Wish me luck on that… I’m worried (but optimistic).

So… this means, if my foot is fine and I can start training again now, I’ll have:

17 weeks of training until the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, DC on October 30.

and then

2 weeks of complete rest

and then

8 weeks more of training  until the Houston Marathon in Houston, Texas on January 15.

Scheduling marathons that close together might be stupid, but at least I’m crazy enough to try it.

This entry was posted in Laura, Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winning the Lottery

  1. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas says:

    I think 10 weeks is not the most time but it’s not stupid. You’ve run before so you’re not starting from scratch. I’m so happy to have you back in the states! Congrats on getting into Houston!

    • laura says:

      My theory is that 10 weeks isn’t a long time to start from scratch to train for a marathon, but seeing as I’ll have done a monster month in Sept-Oct, and then a marathon in Oct, I’lll already be at a good high-mileage level and an “8-week training program” won’t be ridiculous. Hopefully I won’t need more than 2 weeks complete rest and 2 weeks of easy running after MCM to get back to hard training for Houston! 🙂

Leave a Reply

