Once a Princess, Always a Princess

This past weekend a couple of college girlfriends and I ran the Disney Princess Half-Marathon.  I’m sure our intent was for this to be a serious half-marathon weekend – but really, it was an epic excuse for Miranda, Misty and I to get together and act like children for four days.

We are not seven-year-olds on a sugar rush. (Miranda, Cat, Me, Misty)

But, it’s still my first half-marathon, and I’m pretty darn proud of myself.  🙂  Sure, I was slow (3:10:55), but I’m okay with that.  I got to stop and take pictures during the race in my crazy Princess costume.  I dressed as Snow White, Miranda was Ariel, and Misty was Cinderella.

I'm a pretty, pretty princess! I'm way too happy for 4am.

My IT band was acting up, so I taped my knee with KT Tape, which really helped out.   Miranda talked about hitting her wall around mile 10.  I hit mine around mile 11.  Luckily, as you cross each mile marker, there’s someone there to greet you and wave.

Hit the wall, get help from the tall guy.

Somewhat not surprising was the camaraderie we felt with all the other runners.  In the dark of the morning, we were all pointing out potential holes in the ground as we were shuffled to the starting corrals.  I met a pair of lovely ladies, running under the names Lucy and Ethel.  I caught up with them at the end in the med-tent for a pic.

As you can see, we're all icing something!

So the race was on Sunday.  We spent Friday and Saturday at two Disney parks, riding the rides and catching up on our lives.  (Side note – too much walking prior to the race could cause sore feet and the need to soak your feet in hot water the night before the race).  We also had a good time making fun of unfortunately dressed people.  Seriously, there are some incredible fashion disasters in this country and they all seemed to be in Orlando this weekend.

She does realize this is a bathing suit cover up, right??

Monday, after the race when we were hobbling around, we visited The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.  It was brilliant!  Absolutely brilliant.  I’m such a nerd.  There’s an amazing ride inside the Hogwarts Castle that everyone should go on.  It’s well worth the wait in line.

Platform 9 3/4

All in all, a great weekend with two great friends.

xoxo, SuzyQ

This entry was posted in Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

